Enyimba of Aba have been crowned champions of the 2019 Nigerian Professional Football League for a record 8th time after a 3-0 emphatic win over Akwa United at the Agege Stadium Lagos with goals coming from Reuben Bala in the 43rd minute of the first half, and 2 more goals from Stanley Dimgba and Abdulrahman Bashir in the 60th and 89th minute respectively.

The champions were fantastic in the competition with their only loss coming from their 2-0 defeat to  Kano Pillars on match day 3.

The Aba warriors amassed a whooping 12 points from winning 3 games in the competition and scoring 10 goals and conceding 4.

With this victory, they will represent Nigeria in next season’s CAF Champions League alongside Kano Pillars of Kano, Enugu Rangers will represent the country in the CAF Confederations Cup alongside the winners of the forthcoming FA cup.

The other teams which participated in the 6 team playoff include Enugu Rangers who came out 3rd position with 8 points after winning 2 games and drawing 2 and losing 1, Akwa United who came out 4th with 6 points after managing just a single win with 3 draws and a loss.

On the 5th position of the table was Lobi stars who started the tournament on a strong note but lost momentum as the competition continued with 3 losses, a win and a draw. The last man on the log was Ifeanyi Ubah Fc of Anambra who lost all games in the tournament with no points to them.

Leave a Reply