48 nations will battle for places at the 33rd edition of the African Cup of Nations scheduled to hold in the summer of 2021 in Cameroon.

The draws for the qualifiers were made on Thursday 18th July in Cairo Egypt. 12 Groups made up of 4 teams each have been drawn to tackle each other in the qualifiers which will begin from October 2019.

Even though the hosts Cameroon have already qualified for the tournament, they will still take part in the qualifiers.

According to CAF twitter handle, the draws are shown below.

There will be a preliminary Round between Liberia vs Chad, South Sudan vs Seychelles, Mauritius vs Sao Tome and Principe and Djibouti vs Gambia. The Winners will be placed in the various groups as seen in the picture above.

In Group A, Mali is paired with Guinea, Namibia, and the winner between Liberia and Chad. In Group B, Burkina Faso will play Uganda, Malawi, and the winner between South Sudan and Seychelles. Group C houses Ghana, South Africa, Sudan and the winner between Mauritius and Sao Tome and Principe.

Group D holds the room for Congo DR, Gabon, Angola and the winner between Djibouti and Gambia. Group E will play host to Morocco, Mauritania, Central African Republic, and Burundi. Group F will welcome Cameroon, Cape Verde, Mozambique, and Rwanda. In group G, we will be entertained by the current host of the 2019 Afcon Egypt, Kenya, Togo, and Comoros Island.

Group H will entertain Current finalist of the Afcon 2019 Algeria, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana. Group I houses another 2019 finalist Senegal trading tackles with Congo, Guinea Bissau, and Eswatini.

Tunisia, Libya, Tanzania, and Equatorial Guinea will slug it out in Group J. Cote D’Ivoire, Niger, Madagascar, and Ethiopia will play out for places in Group K. Group L will see the tussle for supremacy between the Bronze holder of the current Afcon Nigeria trade tackles with Benin, Sierra Leone, and Lesotho.

2 teams will qualify from each group to give a total of 24 teams for the soccer showdown in 2020 in Cameroon.

Leave a Reply