The final shortlist of nominees in the various categories of the annual CAF Awards ceremony were made public on Wednesday.

This comes after the completion of the first phase of the voting process which was decided upon by the CAF Technical & Development Committee, and a panel of media experts to examine the nominees based on their performances in the year under review. 

In the men’s African Player of the Year category, Nigeria’s Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua) has been shortlisted in the final ten alongside huge favourite Senegal and Liverpool’s Sadio Mane, Africa Cup of Nations winner Riyad Mahrez (Algeria and Manchester City) and Mohammed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool).

Others include André Onana (Cameroon & Ajax), Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax), Ismail Bennacer (Algeria & AC Milan), Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal) and Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Ahli Jeddah). 

In the women’s category of the award, Barcelona Femeni and Super Falcons captain Asisat Oshoala is in contention for the top prize with Ajara Nchout (Cameroon & Valerenga), Gabrielle Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moscow), Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning) and holder Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Beijing Phoenix FC). 

Meanwhile, in the Young Player of the Year nominees list, there will be a battle between the Nigerian duo of Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal) and Victor Osimhen (Lille) for the award. Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund), Krépin Diatta (Senegal & Club Brugge) and Moussa Djenepo (Mali & Southampton) complete the shortlist for the category. 

The award winners for each category will be announced during the CAF Awards ceremony on January 7 in Egypt. 

Other categories include 

Men’s Coach of the Year

Aliou Cisse (Senegal – Senegal)

Christian Gross (Switzerland – Zamalek)

Djamel Belmadi (Algeria – Algeria)

Moïne Chaâbani (Tunisia – Esperance)

Nicolas Dupuis (France – Madagascar)

Women’s Coach of the Year

Alain Djeumfa (Cameroon)

Bruce Mwape (Zambia)

Clementine Toure (Côte d’Ivoire)

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

Men’s National Team of the Year

1. Algeria

2. Madagascar

3. Nigeria

4. Senegal

5. Tunisia

Women’s National Team of the Year

1. Cameroon

2. Côte d’Ivoire

3. Nigeria

4. South Africa

5. Zambia

Leave a Reply