The Athletics Federation of Nigeria has announced a 28-member final athletics team for the 2019 IAAF World Championships to be held in Doha, Qatar between 27th September to 6th October.

The team consisting of 13 men and 15 women, includes an additional 5 coaches as well as the Technical Director Sunday Adeleye and Secretary General, Elijah Ademu.

Blessing Okagbare and Divine Oduduru are the star casts for the team ahead of the global Championships as they both will compete in the men and women’s 100m and 200m.

African Games 100m Champion Raymond Ekevwo and National Champion Usheoritse Itsekiri will also jostle for honors in the men’s 100m.

Also, Commonwealth and African Games 100m Hurdles Champion, Tobi Amusan will be hoping to win a first World title in Doha.

Other sprinters who have been added to the final team include; Emmanuel Arowolo (men’s 200m), Rilwan Alowonle (men’s 400mH), Patience Okon-George and Favour Ofili (women’s 400mH).

Others are: Shot Put prospect Chukwuebuka Enekwechi and Olatoye Oyesade, Discus thrower Chioma Onyekwere and Long Jumper Ese Brume.

Team Nigeria hasn’t won a medal at the Championships for the last two editions, with Blessing Okagbare being the last athlete to win a medal when she racked up Silver and Bronze in Moscow in 2013.

Leave a Reply